How To Dye Your Hair With Natural Ingredients?

I thought that I’d seen everything until I started noticing articles about dying your hair with, of all things, Nutella.  
Yes, you heard me right.  There’s no need to clear the wax out of your ears, ask “what?!” or clean your glasses.  Nutella.

pack_small_2

That’s when I turned to good ole YouTube because you just know that at least one of those beauty queen video makers are going to actually try this.  Sure enough, I was right. Not only was there one of them but, surprise, surprise, just in case one didn’t get it right, there were several to many beauty YouTubers out there who had tried this.

RESULT:  (Drum Roll please)

Nothing.  Nada. Zip.  As expected, no change whatsoever in anyone’s hair colour no matter how they did it or how long they left it in their hair (they were all blondes…go figure).

Even more surprising was that actual licensed hair salons were trying this too.  Uhhh…what did they teach these people in hair dressing school?  Kind of frightening, I’d say.

If that wasn’t bad enough, YouTube side bars (as all good YouTube watchers know) are filled with other, similar contented videos that you’d like to watch.  Yes, YouTube really does its job in gathering its information on what you’re watching and shoving more and more videos of the same nature at you.

People were trying, coffee, turmeric, ginger, beets (a LOT of preparation for that one) and just about every other food, spice or drink you can think of to change their hair colour.  Oh, what people will do to put out a YouTube video.

In the end, all of them seemed to only end up with messes on their counters, shirts, towels and a lot of wasted time, energy and money and not to mention, a ton of shampoo, conditioners as well as likely higher water bills to get some of the crap out that they poured into their hair.

(I’m sure a few of them got their heads licked by their dogs or boyfriends while they were at it which may or may not have made a better video than the actual hair dying vids.)

However, I had to wonder something.  If they were able to succeed in having changed their hair colour with these things, how long would it actually have lasted?  Secondly, I wondered if their heads smelled like chocolate or the spices or coffee for days?  How many of them who tried the coffee method, had people wanting to dunk their break time cookies into their heads?

I have red hair.  I mean ORANGE hair right now.  Yes, I did it purposely with an actual salon dye which they consider “Amber” in colour.  I just call myself “Carrot Top” because if I wear green clothing, I look like a giant carrot.  I’m getting used to it now.  After all, I could be stop sign red, pink, purple, green or any other colour of the spectrum that one can think of.  Why not orange?

So, what’s next?  Some idiot will claim that Cheese Whiz changes your hair to orange and everyone and their brothers will be out to buy a jar of it to plaster onto their hair next? Or peanut butter turns it a dirty blonde?  Get out your crackers and bread.  Well…wait…Cheeze Whiz did work for this guy and the “cracker” is there as well.  No double dipping please.

trump hair
Donald Trump Cheese Whiz Hair Dye On The Cracker

From my little corner of life, I had a laugh especially at 2 ladies who decided that putting Nutella in their hair on a white comforter in a white room and dancing around was a great idea in film making.  I’m sure that will be the ONE thing that Nutella doesn’t come out of easily.

Until next time, happy hair dying with real hair colour, not food.  Keep that for your stomachs, please.

 

 

Published by ponderinglifetoo

I'm a wife, mother, artist, photographer and bookkeeper. I love writing out my thoughts in journals but, am finding my way to sharing these with others now.

One thought on “How To Dye Your Hair With Natural Ingredients?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.