Why Doesn’t The Mature Generation Make YouTube Videos?

I must be getting old.  I’m finding that the social medias are having limited usages for those of my generation.  Yes, I am not in the target group for those who use most social media but, use it anyway.

youtube

One in particular sticks out in my mind.  How many of us have gone to Youtube to find “how-to” videos, only to find that the majority of Youtubers are of a much younger age group and ended up feeling as though we’re ancient?

I don’t mind watching a 20-something who has something to offer me in learning how to create or make something.  Younger people have a lot to offer us older folk.  However, it’s hard to watch a video created by and for viewers who are half our age and not have the project work for us because the styles are meant for those who are much younger.

Thankfully, I am able to adapt the lesson I’ve learned and use the techniques to create something that does suit my age group once I’ve caught onto the process so, it’s of little consequence that I don’t follow the tutorial exactly as shown to achieve the same finished product.

My question is, why is it that more mature generations are not interested in making YouTube videos?  Let’s face it, we have the life experience, have often learned to do things that younger video makers may not know.  Why do they have the confidence to go ahead and make these videos whereas, we older generations lack in the want to make videos?

Perhaps, the more mature generations need to dispose of our vanity and put out some videos of our own.  After all, we have decades of experience behind us.  We may not have the bodies or faces of the younger YouTubers but, we have the knowledge that might be helpful to even those who are younger.  If that doesn’t work, we can engage one another.

Talk to me as to why you may not share something that you can do or think or feel on video for YouTube.  I’d love to hear your reasoning.  Please share it with us.

From my little corner of life…we all have something to share.

2 thoughts on “Why Doesn’t The Mature Generation Make YouTube Videos?

    • There are just TONS of those videos out there, Cathy. I have nothing to offer in that arena but, I’m thinking on a few ideas to start my own channel that will appeal to all ages past 18 years of age up to and including those our age and beyond. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

