Mother’s Day: A Day To Honor The Women Who Raised You

Mother’s Day.  A day to celebrate and show appreciation for the woman in your life who raised you and took care of you.  Though brought about by commercial retailers and frought with hype, it’s a day in which we have set aside to honor the things that we are grateful for from these women.

For some, it will be a day in which there is sadness if we’ve lost our own mothers.  It will also bring pangs of unfairness if we’ve raised a child who doesn’t acknowledge the day.

My own mother passed away some 26 years ago now.  I was 29 years of age at the time, taking care of a 3 year old daughter. (If you’re doing the math, you have a rough idea of my age from those statistics).  I had been my mother’s sole caregiver as she battled with a malignant brain tumor.  For me, it’s a day of bittersweetness in looking back and honoring my mother and all that she did for me.  It’s not a day that I visit her grave site as I feel she is with me wherever I am, knowing what I’m thinking and feeling about her and that I am thinking of her.

For the past 26 years, I have gone without a mother but, I’ve been a mother to a beautiful daughter who has now become a woman herself and is now at the very age that I was when my mother had passed on.  Sadly, my daughter has allowed herself to fall prey to a man whom she allows to control her every move and she has had nothing to do with me for the past year or more because of him.  The reasons and the dynamics are hard to fathom because it appears that even she doesn’t quite know what the issues are within herself that is causing her to feel this way.  However, the bottom line is that I can do nothing about it, in spite of having tried many, many times.

My mother-in-law passed away 14 years ago and my grandmothers both passed away 16 years ago in the same year, only 7 months apart.

As we settle into Mother’s Day and I remember all of these beautiful women, hoping that my own daughter will have an epiphany of some sort and at least make a phonecall to me, I will remember their love,kindness and that I was lucky enough to have had them in my life.

May you spend Mother’s Day with those thoughts for your own mothers, aunts and grandmothers.  They helped make you who you are today.  And, if you can, spend a bit of time with them, even if it can only be done by phone or, within your mind if it can’t be done.

For those of you reading this who are mothers, Happy Mother’s Day.  May you be blessed with the love of the child or children that you raised.  There is no harder but, blessed job in this world than being a parent.

Leave a Reply

